Get Ready for a Happy #Holiday With a #99c #Romance from @Kris_Bock… Whispers In The Dark


Kris Bock cover banner png 851x315

Whispers in the Dark, by Kris Bock

 

Archaeology student Kylie Hafford expects an adventure when she heads to remote Puebloan ruins to excavate. Romance isn’t part of her plan, but she meets two sexy men: Sean is a charming tourist who takes an instant liking to Kylie. Danesh, a site ranger who looks like an Anasazi warrior, seems to take an instant dislike to Kylie, and yet something draws them together. The summer heats up as Kylie uncovers mysteries, secrets, and terrors in the dark. She’ll need all her strength and wits to survive – and to save the man she’s coming to love.

 

Whispers in the DARK

 

Readers give a 4.2-star average to Whispers in the Dark, romantic suspense set in the Four Corners region of the Southwest. It stands alone and is not part of a series. Fans of Mary Stewart, Barbara Michaels, and Victoria Holt will love Kris Bock’s stories of romance and adventure.

 

Whispers in the Dark is on sale Nov. 19-24 – only 99 cents for the Kindle! Get it now!

 

Excerpt:

 

I hit something, bounced, scraped, and finally landed with a thud that rattled my whole body.

 

I lay in the dark, blinded, my head ringing, pain washing over me in great waves. My lungs screamed for air, but it seemed like I’d forgotten how to breathe.

 

Finally I dragged in a breath. I closed my eyes and focused on breathing, waiting for the world to settle into place.

 

Rain misted my face, so I must be lying on my back. My head felt heavier than my feet. I shifted and realized I was lying on a slope with my head pointing down.

 

I tried to concentrate on those little details. I couldn’t handle anything more. Panic fluttered around me, but I refused to think about anything but the present moment. I flexed my fingers. When that worked, I moved my hands over my body, up to my face. My head throbbed, but when I felt around my skull, I didn’t find any serious damage.

 

I had to move. The thought battered at the back of my mind, a panicky whisper that I tried to ignore. I had to run. Hide. He was after me. I had to get away.

 

I clenched my teeth hard, as if I could bite back the pain and fear. Memories crowded in, like panicked ghosts wailing at the edges of my mind. Guns, strange men. Dangerous, threatening men. Danesh trying to protect me, the gun going off. My own helpless, panicked flight. Helpless. Worthless. Unable to fight, unable even to scream.

 

I tried to focus on this one moment, the physical sensations of my aching body as I lay on the hard, damp ground. The cold against my bare calves, the lump of rock pressing into my shoulder. That focus helped keep me grounded in the present. Never mind that this present wasn’t a place I wanted to be. I had to deal with reality. But I didn’t have to also deal with nightmares. Not now.

 

The little whimpers in my throat faded to short gasping breaths. I held on to this moment, this single slice of reality. Now to move forward. I didn’t have to like it, but I had to do it. One step at a time.

 

Get Whispers in the Dark  on sale for 99 cents for the Kindle!

 

Kris Bock author photo

 

Kris Bock writes novels of suspense and romance involving outdoor adventures and Southwestern landscapes. In Counterfeits, stolen Rembrandt paintings bring danger to a small New Mexico town. What We Found is a romantic mystery about a young woman who finds a murder victim in the woods. The Mad Monk’s Treasure follows the hunt for a long-lost treasure in the New Mexico desert. In The Dead Man’s Treasure, estranged relatives compete to reach a buried treasure by following a series of complex clues. Read excerpts at www.krisbock.com or visit her Amazon page. You can also follow her blog, The Southwest Armchair Traveler.

More Than A Lawman by Anna J. Stewart #BookReview @RomSuspense @AJStewartWriter


A journalist and a sexy detective team up to catch a serial killer in USA TODAY bestselling author Anna J. Stewart’s new romance! 

Haunted by the death of her childhood friend, journalist Eden St. Claire has dedicated her life to catching serial killers–and she’s always done so alone. But when the lethal murderer Eden is tracking puts her in danger’s crosshairs, she agrees to accept protection from longtime friend Detective Cole Delaney.

Cole has secretly carried a torch for Eden for years. She might not want to let anybody in, but the thought of losing her is unbearable. Passions flare as the threats intensify. Can Cole convince Eden to break her own rule to never fall in love…before the killer snuffs out their happily-ever-after?

“Anna J. Stewart’s page-turning romantic suspense debut is a pitch-perfect blend of romance and suspense. With a smart,engaging heroine and a sexy cop hero, what’s not to love? Fun and suspenseful,MORE THAN A LAWMAN rocks.”~NYTimes Bestselling Author Allison Brennan

 

 

Anna J. Stewart

A geek at heart, USA TODAY and national bestselling author Anna J Stewart writes “refreshingly unique, quietly humorous, and profoundly moving romance” (RT Book Reviews) including the Butterfly Harbor series for Harlequin Heartwarming, the HONOR BOUND series for Harlequin Romantic Suspense, and The Tremayne Family romances.

NYTimes bestselling author Brenda Novak says “The talented Anna J Stewart delivers every time!” Anna lives in Northern California where she deals with a serious Star Trek, Supernatural, and Sherlock addiction, surrounds herself with friends and family and tolerates an overly affectionate cat named Snickers (or perhaps it’s Snickers who tolerates her). Visit her online at http://www.authorannastewart.com

 

My Review

I first met Anna J. Stewart online with her work involvement in Brenda Novak’s yearly auction to raise funds for Diabetes Research (something that has affected my family as well). I won a fifty page critique by a famous author, I won’t say who because that doesn’t matter, but she failed to follow through with her promise. Instead, Anna, who was already crazy busy writing her own novel as well as coordinating the auction and who knows what else, took on the job!

I tell you this because I wanted you to know the type of person she is; kind, caring, and a giver. This shines through in her writing style.

More Than a Lawman opens with a bang and doesn’t let off for the entire book. Eden St. Claire is a journalist on the hunt for the killer. She’s dedicated her life to shining the spotlight on serial killers in the hopes one day she’ll find the person who murdered her childhood friend.

Cole Delaney appointed himself her protector when they were still children and has watched over her ever since. When Eden is taken by a suspected killer and found hanging, barely conscious, in a meat locker along with eight dead bodies, his emotions swamp him and he knows he’s in love.

Now it’s to keep her alive long enough for them to stand a chance!

I give More Than a Lawman 5 lovely kisses and look forward to reading the rest in the series!

cropped-kiss21cropped-kiss21cropped-kiss21cropped-kiss21cropped-kiss21