She came back to catch a killer: The Devil’s Daughter by @Katee_Robert #Suspense #Thriller @Barclay_PR


robert_the-devils-daughter_badge-copy-copy

THE DEVIL’S DAUGHTER

 by Katee Robert

FBI agent, Eden Collins is going home… to catch a killer.  Fans of Audey Harte’s It Takes One and Kendra Elliott’s Bone Secrets series, will devour The Devil’s Daughter, the fast-paced and suspenseful first book, in the Hidden Sins series by NYT and USA Today Bestselling Author Katee Robert.

 

robert_thedevilsdaughter_23176-cv-ft

 

 

Title: The Devil’s Daughter

Author: Katee Robert

Series: Hidden Sins #1

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: January 24, 2017

Publisher: Montlake Romance

Print Length:  316 pages

Format: Digital and Paperback

ISBN: 1503940918

Synopsis:

Growing up in a small town isn’t easy, especially when you’re the daughter of a local cult leader. Ten years ago, Eden Collins left Clear Springs, Montana, and never once looked back. But when the bodies of murdered young women surface, their corpses violated and marked with tattoos worn by her mother’s followers, Eden, now an FBI agent, can’t turn a blind eye. To catch the killer, she’s going to have to return to the fold.

Sheriff Zach Owens isn’t comfortable putting Eden in danger, even if she is an elite agent. And he certainly wasn’t expecting to be so attracted to her. As calm and cool as she appears, he knows this can’t be a happy homecoming. Zach wants to protect her—from her mother, the cult, and the evil that lurks behind its locked gates. But Eden is his only key to the tight-lipped group, and she may just be closer to the killer than either one of them suspects…

 

Get More information at:  Goodreads  | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

tdd_catch_a_killer

Excerpt:

By the time she made it back to the courtyard, it was empty, everyone having gone off to their varying duties. Martha might be a monster of a particular variety, but she had a well-run establishment. But then, she would. Keep her people too busy to stop and wonder about some of the insane shit she preaches. That saying about idle hands didn’t originate with the Greeks, but her mother had never been shy about incorporating whatever dogma she found most useful. No one questioned it.

No one but Eden.

And she’d paid for every question she’d asked.

She stopped next to her car, slowing her movements, because if she didn’t exert total control, she was going to fling herself into the driver’s seat and tear out of here as fast as the car could go. She wouldn’t stop in Clear Springs. She’d just keep driving until she put a few states between her and Elysia.

Not an option. You made damn sure of that.

She noticed the door was unlocked and frowned. Had she locked it when she got here? Eden couldn’t be sure. She’d been so rattled and practically bursting with adrenaline and dread that it was entirely possible she’d headed for her mother’s house without pausing to lock the door.

But she didn’t think so.

She opened the driver’s door cautiously, half expecting something to explode. She only had cursory bomb training, so even if she swept the vehicle, she couldn’t be sure she’d find something. If there was even something to find. Hello, paranoia, my old friend. She turned a slow circle, trying to figure out if someone would have had enough time to plant something. If a person had the know-how, setting up a bomb in a half hour was cake.

Way to be reassuring.

She leaned back into the car, a flash of white and yellow catching her eye. Frowning, she leaned in farther and used the pen in her cup holder to hook the circular wreath of daisies lying on the floorboard of the passenger side. It looked like the kind of thing she’d made when she was a kid and bored out of her ever-loving mind during the summer. She’d weave together the flowers that grew in the fields of Elysia into something very similar to this and wear it while she pretended she was Persephone, just waiting for her Hades to appear and whisk her away to be his queen. Eden dropped it like it’d caught fire. She’d completely forgotten about playing that game. Hell, no one knew she’d done it. She’d always been alone out there.

Or so she’d thought.

She wanted to throw the flowers away, to rip the wreath apart and grind it beneath her boots. But it was most definitely some kind of evidence. Even if there was no trace on there to find whoever had left it, it was proof that someone had been watching her when she got here.

Apparently my instincts aren’t as ravaged as I thought.

She wasn’t sure if that was comforting or terrifying.

 

84d24-line2bdivider

 

 

Katee Robert 04 205px png

New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Katee Robert learned to tell her stories at her grandpa’s knee. She found romance novels at age twelve and it changed her life. When not writing sexy contemporary and speculative fiction romance novels, she spends her time playing imaginary games with her wee ones, driving her husband batty with what-if questions, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse.  Connect with Katee at: Website | Facebook | Twitter| GoodReads | Instagram |

 

 

Katee stopped by the bog for a chat and I just had to grill her on what she’s been up to lately 🙂

 

What are your non-writing hobbies, or what do you do to relax?

I’m a big reader and tea drinker, and recently I’ve started this new gym. It’s absolutely ridiculous. Everything is all black lights and loud music and the spin class leaves my legs all limp noodle, but it’s been the biggest stress relief. Even though the last few months have been insane, I’ve been way more relaxed as a result.

 

Do you have any personal heroes/heroines?

I think Michelle Obama is a goddess in disguise. She’s always poised and controlled and she’s wicked smart and knows how to deliver a speech. I would absolutely love to share a conversation with her and hopefully soak up some brilliance.

I wish she would have run for office, lol

 

Have you had any unusual or noteworthy occupations?

I worked in a hotel for roughly three years, starting at the front desk and ending as the sales manager. The stories I could tell about the dramas that went down–both with guests and staff–could populate MANY books.

I can imagine!

 

What was your best date ever?

The husband and I were in Seattle for a book signing and we had this totally epic evening, starting with dinner, progressing to a random shopping trip, and ending in this little bar below the hotel where other authors and readers were hanging out. It was wonderful.

Sounds perfect 🙂

 

Tell us something you are really proud of.

So if someone would have told me 3 years ago that I’d have a mystery-based romantic suspense like the books I was obsessed with growing up, I wouldn’t have dared hope. It’s a new genre for me and it has challenges totally different from contemporary romance. Some of the reviews are filtering out, and the fact that people are as surprised as I was by the last twist is just so gratifying. I love The Devil’s Daughter, and I’m really proud of how it turned out.

I can’t wait to read it!

 

 

takeadvantage_tdd

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s