#BookReview- How Lulu Lost her Mind by Rachel Gibson #WomensFic


From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Gibson comes the story of a mother-daughter journey to rediscover the past before it disappears forever.

Lou Ann Hunter’s mother, Patricia, has always had a passionate nature, which explains why she’s been married and divorced five times and spooned enough male patients to be ousted from three elderly care facilities. She also has Alzheimer’s, which is why she wants to spend the rest of her life surrounded by childhood memories at Sutton Hall, her family’s decrepit plantation home in Louisiana.

Lou Ann, a.k.a. Lulu the Love Guru, has built an empire preaching sex, love, and relationship advice to the women of America—mostly by defying the example her mother has set for her. But with Patricia suddenly in need of a fulltime caretaker, Lou Ann reluctantly agrees to step out of the spotlight and indulge her mother’s wishes, even if it means trading in her Louboutins and Chanel N°5 for boots and mosquito repellant.

Upon her arrival at Sutton Hall, Lou Ann discovers that very little functions as it should—least of all Patricia’s mind. And as she adjusts to this new and inevitably temporary dynamic with the help of a local handyman and a live-in nurse, she is forced to confront the reality that neither her nor her mother’s future is going according to plan.

Heartrending at times and laugh-out-loud funny at others, How Lulu Lost Her Mind is the book for everyone and their mother. Fans of Emily Giffin, Kristan Higgins, and Jill Shalvis won’t be able to forget it.

About Rachel Gibson

Rachel Gibson is a New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of over twenty-five novels, including The Art of Running in Heels and Just Kiss Me. She has received the RITA Award, the Golden Heart, the National Readers Choice Award, and more.

When not writing, you can usually find Rachel with her ’56 T-Bird at Classic Car shows where she kicks butt, takes names, and thinks she Suzanne Summers in American Graffiti.

Photo by Andreea Ch on Pexels.com

My Review of How Lulu Lost her Mind

Lou Ann (Lulu, the love guru) keeps her life running in tip-top shape, everything except her eccentric mother, who suffers from Alzheimer’s. When Patricia is evicted from her third senior care home for her romantic tendencies, Lou Ann is forced to set aside an important tour to take her mother back to her childhood home in Louisiana.

The plantation is in rough shape, the mosquitos are huge, and don’t even get her started about the alligators, but Lou Ann vows to make the best of a bad situation as long as it makes her mother happy.

While a sexy cajun handyman works on the mansion, Lou Ann and her mother delve into a long forgotten past and reconnect with each other in the process.

This book explores the horrible disease of Alzheimer’s in a humorous, yet heartwrenching way that is bound to touch readers. My grandmother passed away a few years ago from dementia and I found myself relating to Lou Ann’s frustration, pain, and love over the person who had taken over her beloved mother’s body.

Dementia changed my kind, sweet grandma into one who was often angry and scared. I pray that a cure will be found for this brain disease.

12 thoughts on “#BookReview- How Lulu Lost her Mind by Rachel Gibson #WomensFic

  1. Alzheimer’s is such an awful disease. I pray a cure will be found too, Jacquie.

    This sounds like an emotional read, with laughter, love and tears.
    All the best to the author!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s sad how many are affected-564,000
      Canadians are currently living with dementia- https://alzheimer.ca/en/Home/About-dementia/What-is-dementia/Dementia-numbers
      Rachel Gibson is one of my favorite authors. Her books are always excellent!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the cover on this one, Jacquie. I enjoyed your heartfelt review, too. My grandfather had Alzheimer’s before he passed away, and I’m right there with you on hope for a cure. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s heartbreaking not just on the patient’s side, but their families, as well. {{hugs}} Jennifer

      Like

  3. I lost my dad to this ugly disease and am not convinced that I could embrace this book. I love this author and the cover is great. However this subject matter is still too raw for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry, Jodie. It eats away at their self-respect, doesn’t it? In the end Grandma didn’t recognise her own son 😦

      Like

  4. D.L. Finn, Author August 11, 2020 — 11:44 am

    Great review, Jacquie. I’ve had to watch this horrible disease take down more than one relative. I hope there’s a cure for it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Denise. Yes, I think it’s even more prevalent than we realize.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Too many suffer from this horrible disease. If only we could find a way to stop or slow its progression.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s sad, Michele. This book handled the subject matter in a poignant, yet often funny manner.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. ,sounds like a good read! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She’s one of my favorite authors!

      Like

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close